On Campus: Robert Morris University On Campus | Robert Morris University

For Students

On Campus

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing
STTI Upsilon Phi Chapter


The RMU School of Nursing and Health Sciences, Department of Nursing established a nursing honor society in 2005 in order to promote and recognize scholarship in the discipline of nursing for our faculty and students. This was the first step in the process of chartering own chapter of the Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Honor Society of Nursing.

In 2008, the Upsilon Phi Chapter (RMU Chapter) of STTI was founded under the direction of board members Susan Lucot, Pam Aleck, Michaelle Hernon, Emily Hojdila and Valerie Howard. Membership criteria are determined by STTI, and RMU undergraduate and graduate nursing students meeting this criteria are invited to join. Once invited, nurses can become lifelong members of this prestigious organization that supports the learning, knowledge, and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide. 

Please click to refer to Sigma Theta Tau Website or to the Membership Criteria.

Student Nurses Association

The Student Nurses Association Program (SNAP) was chartered at RMU in Spring 2005. Stated below are the primary purposes and functions of the organization:

  • To assume responsibility for contributing to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality of health care  
  • To provide programs representative of fundamental interests and concerns to nursing students.  
  • To aid in the development of the whole person, including his/her professional role, his/her responsibility for health care of people in all walks of life

Learn more here.